“I DID IT!” Chocolate Chip Cookies

The original recipe came from Host the Toast. I was quietly minding my own business the other day when my friend Emily messaged me, “ANNA I swear to God the best chocolate chip recipe I’ve ever made. They are aamaaazinggggg!” It is a running joke in my life that I can’t make chocolate chip cookies, hence her sending me this recipe. I’ve had a few solid batches here and there but they just never work. I can make really hard recipes perfectly the first time but can’t make a basic batch of chocolate chip cookies. I was skeptical, but promised her that I would try them. This is what convinced me to make them-

10947577_10153170975706802_1289299151_n

Ingredients:

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cornstarch

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ sticks (6 oz) butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed (I used dark brown sugar, but either will work)

½ cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1½ cups dark chocolate chips

1. Soften butter, add in sugars and mix until combined and fluffy.

2. Add in the eggs and vanilla until incorporated.

3. Sift together flour, salt, cornstarch, and baking soda. Slowly add it into the bowl until JUST combined, do not over mix.

4. Fold in chocolate chips by hand to help keep from over mixing.

IMG_4936

5. Cover and refrigerate for at least a half hour. I put mine in for 20 minutes, then turned my oven on to pre-heat to 325 and let them stay in the fridge until the oven was pre-heated.

6. The original recipe says to use 1/4 cup dough per cookie, I just used the larger ice cream scoop to make them uniform. I fit 9 per cookie sheet.

IMG_4938

7. Cook for about 12 minutes or until just golden brown. I put the dough back in the fridge between batches.

8. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before transporting them to a cooling rack.

IMG_4939

9. Enjoy with a large class of milk, like my dad likes to do.

IMG_4944

Oh yeah, check out that beard 😉

The cookies are awesome too. Emily was right. However, we both discussed and decided that we would probably add just a little bit more flour to give them a bit more body, more like 2 1/2 cups of flour.

2 thoughts on ““I DID IT!” Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • Thankfully, this recipe doesn’t make a whole lot of cookies….so you could definitely get away with it! PS, I’m an Army brat as well. My mom used to send boxes to my dad filled with….chocolate chip cookies! Among other baked goods of course! haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

