The Power of a Praying Wife-Part II

At the beginning of February, I started the book/devotional The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian. Three days in I wrote a post about how much I was loving it. Now that I have read all 31 chapters, I was not disappointed. For those of you who are thinking “But you’re not married!” Let me direct you to the first post HERE, where I explain why I’m doing this.

It’s always been hard for me to do daily devotionals. I end up getting sucked in and just reading large chunks at a time. It took a few days to discipline myself to only do one chapter a night. Once I had set a schedule, it was easy to keep it. It was the last thing I did every night before I went to bed. The few times I accidentally forgot my book whilst traveling, I was super annoyed and felt like my day just wasn’t complete! Now that it’s done, I am fervently trying to pick my next one!

As I read, I realized that the majority of the devotions and prayers could and do apply to not only my better half, but my father and brother as well. I must say, it’s been quite a blessing and eye opening seeing how the power of prayer is working in their lives and they don’t even know it! Along with each (very) short chapter, Omartian provides guided prayers that go with that chapter. In the beginning, I definitely used those guided prayers. As I went through, and “learned how to pray” in accordance with the chapter, I found that I didn’t rely on them as much. The words would already be there.

Though the point of this was to pray for my fiancé, I ended up praying for the other men in my life, and my general prayer life has gotten better. I was setting aside very specific time every night to pray. I have become more bold in my prayers. I have become more consistent. I am conscious of the answered prayers around me in a way I wasn’t before. This is the kind of book that helps establish a routine and shows you how to pray for your husband in ways you never thought of before. It’s the kind of book that I know that I will revisit for years to come, and will pass on to friends through the many seasons of life.

If you are almost married or have been married for 60 years, this book is for you. If you have a solid prayer life or are seeking to help deepen it, this book is for you. If you are already a Stormie Omartian fan, having read her other prayer devotions, then this book is for you.

51wP+tsCs4L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

For more of Stormie’s books and about her, check out https://stormieomartian.com/ You can also Like her on Facebook and follow her on instagram @stormieomartian.

Leave a Reply

