Bacon Jam

I saw bacon jam floating around Pinterest and decided to give it a go. Ethan and I LOVE bacon. We end up cooking a pound at least once a week to use for recipes the following days. I happened to have made some homemade French bread which paired perfectly with my new favorite spread! Most recipes called for brown sugar, but I am not about the whole candied bacon thing, and like to keep my savory savory, and my sweet sweet.

Ingredients:

1 pound of bacon

1 medium onion

Pepper

Worcestershire Sauce

2 tablespoons butter

  1. Fry bacon and set aside to cool. Do not drain the last of the fat and bits after the last batch of bacon.
  2. Chop the onion and add to the skillet with the butter. Cook until soft and caramelized. You don’t want to fry the onions so make sure the stove is medium/low.

18279856_10212657365574170_901804044_n.jpg3. In a food processor, add in the bacon, onions, and a few dashes of Worcestershrie sauce. You could add other spices if you so chose, or the brown sugar if you’re one of those people. Pulse until combined. I left mine just a bit chunky, but you could process it until it’s really smooth if you wanted.

18336697_10212657364574145_29831560_n.jpg

Spread on English muffins, good bread, etc. I prefer to eat it warm, but you could eat it cooler as well. It doesn’t make a very large batch, so I would definitely suggest doubling the recipe if you plan on making it for a party.

18280891_10212657364774150_859085820_n

Leave a Reply

